HomeOur work > Data governance

Working group on data governance

Our mandate as a group aligns closely with GPAI’s overall mission. Our working group aims to “collate evidence, shape research, undertake applied AI projects and provide expertise on data governance, to promote data for AI being collected, used, shared, archived and deleted in ways that are consistent with human rights, inclusion, diversity, innovation, economic growth, and societal benefit, while seeking to address the UN Sustainable Development Goals.”

The working group applies a horizontal lens to its work and projects. This reflects the foundational nature of data governance and suits the working group’s expertise, alongside maintaining the flexibility and broader use of its work. The working group collaborates with other working groups to advise on the data governance aspects of GPAI’s wider project portfolio, with experts having volunteered to provide specialist input on a responsible AI strategy for the environment, social media governance, AI for public domain drug discovery, and intellectual property.    

Data governance working group report (Nov. 2020) |  Executive summary

Framework paper for GPAI's work on data governance

 The role of data in AI (report prepared for GPAI by the Digital Curation Centre, Edinburgh University School of Informatics and Trilateral Research) 

Current projects

The data governance working group is pursuing the following projects in 2021:

Our experts

Group contact point: GPAI Montreal Centre of Expertise

Group members

  • Maja Bogataj Jančič, Intellectual Property Institute, Slovenia (co-chair)
  • Jeni Tennison, Open Data Institute, UK (co-chair)
  • Jeremy Achin, DataRobot
  • Ricardo Baeza-Yates, NTENT Hispania
  • Alejandro Pisanty Baruch, National Autonomous University
  • Carlo Casonato, University of Trento
  • Paul Dalby, Australian Institute for Machine Learning
  • Matija Damjan, University of Ljubljana
  • Josef Drexl, Max Planck Institute
  • Teki Akuetteh Falconer, Africa Digital Rights Hub
  • Allan Feitosa, Eldorado Research Institute
  • Alison Gillwald, Research ICT Africa
  • Asunción Gomez, University of Madrid
  • Naoto Ikegai, Tokyo University
  • Takashi Kai, Hitachi
  • V. Kamakoti, IIT Madras
  • Te Taka Keegan, University of Waikato
  • Yeong Zee Kin, Infocomm Media Development Authority
  • Robert Kroplewski, Plenipotentiary of the Minister of Digitization for the Information Society, Poland
  • Shameek Kundu, Truera
  • Neil Lawrence, University of Cambridge
  • Hiroshi Mano, Data Trading Alliance
  • Kim McGrail, University of British Columbia
  • Nicolas Miailhe, The Future Society
  • Bertrand Monthubert, Occitanie Data
  • Dewey Murdick, Center for Security and Emerging Technology, Georgetown University
  • P. J. Narayanan, International Institute of Technology, Hyderabad
  • Seongtak Oh, National Information Society Agency of South Korea
  • Carole Piovesan, INQ Data Law
  • Iris Plöger, Federation of German Industries (BDI)
  • Oreste Pollicino, University of Bocconi
  • Aleksandra Przegalińska, Kozminski University
  • Anderson Soares, Artificial Intelligence Center of Excellence
  • Paola Villerreal, National Council for Science and Technology
  • Christiane Wendehorst, European Law Institute


  • Jaco Du Toit
  • Naoto Ikegai, Toyo University
  • Zümrüt Müftüoğlu, Yildiz Technical University
  • Nagla Rizk, The American University in Cairo
  • Elettra Ronchi, OECD