HomeOur work > Innovation and commercialization

Working group on innovation and commercialization

Our working group will study and recommend practical tools and methods that enable private actor and research organization to drive international collaboration on AI R&D and innovation, to develop research outputs into products and processes, and to transfer these results to industry for commercialisation, with a special focus on SMEs.

In the first years, the working group may focus on specific issues related to establishing trust in AI systems that are commercialized, since trustworthiness over the whole life cycle of the product is one of the key challenges for bringing AI research to market.

It will also focus on innovation and reducing time to market, in line with our shared values, and the importance of R&D to address some of our mutual most pressing challenges.

Innovation and commercialization working group report

Executive summary

Our first projects

A first step is to identify new business models, new services, new ideas and new ecosystems made possible by AI. This topic is about new ways of doing business (example: pooling data together to train AI models), new ways for companies to collaborate (R&D, innovation, value sharing, data sharing, etc.), considering all business models: business-to-consumer (B2C), business-to-business (B2B) and public-to-citizen (P2C).

In the meantime, the group will study the mechanisms the private sector should put in place to promote such new models for AI innovation, commercialization and adoption (example: marketplaces, data sharing, etc.), and what the governments should and should not do, to support innovation, commercialization and adoption of AI (example: allow the sharing of public data, putting in place procurement processes to support innovation or start-ups, etc.)

The working group also undertakes research and analysis on issues of intellectual property of AI as experienced by firms of various sizes, with an aim towards developing strategies to help them address these issues.

Medium-term projects

After GPAI’s first Multistakeholders Experts Plenary meeting, organised by the Montreal Centre of Expertise in December 2020, the working group will start looking at additional topics to be chosen among the following:

  • State-of-the-art review on the auditability, certification and reliability of AI algorithms and systems specific to industrial and commercial products and services;
  • State-of-the-art review on approaches to human-to-computer interaction (HCI) in the context of B2C and B2B relationships (e.g. HCI for autonomous cars, robots, medical assistants, recommendation engines for professionals, etc.);
  • Guidance and assessment of standards and examples of “ethical by design” development of industrial and commercial AI systems;
  • Conduct experimentations on the certification and reliability of AI algorithms and systems that enable the transition from R&D labs to products.
  • Further research on the global race for talent in the field of AI, including on global wage differences and the recruitment of academic experts by the private sector.

Our experts

Group contact point: GPAI Paris Centre of Expertise

Group members

  • Francoise Soulie-Fogelman, Scientific Advisor, Hub France IA (co-chair)
  • Jean-Francois Gagne, CEO, Element AI (co-chair)
  • Foteini Agrafioti, Borealis AI
  • Pekka Ala-Pietilä, Huhtamaki; Sanoma
  • Robert Atkinson, ITIF
  • Barbara Caputo, Politecnico of Torino
  • Hemant Darbari, India Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC)
  • Helani Galpaya, LIRNEasia
  • Tabitha Goldstaub, CognitionX
  • Dorothy Gordon, UNESCO
  • Marko Grobelnik, Artificial Intelligence Lab, Jožef Stefan Institute
  • Ingo Hoffman, AI Hamburg; ADI Innovation AG
  • Kyunghoon Kim, Korea Information Society Development Institute
  • Tan Geok Leng, AIDA Technologies
  • Andreas Liebl, Unternehmer TUM GmbH
  • Laurence Liew, AI Singapore
  • Ségolène Martin, Kantify
  • Hiroshi Maruyama, Preferred Networks, Inc.; University of Tokyo
  • Emma Naji, AI Forum NZ
  • Fawzi Nashashibi, INRIA
  • Myungsoon Park, SK Telecom
  • Daniela Rus, MIT
  • Riccardo Sabatini, Orionis Biosciences
  • Luis Octavio Solis Sánchez, Unidad Académica de Ingeniería Eléctrica 
  • Umakant Soni, AI Foundry; pi Ventures ARTPARK
  • Junichi Tsujii, National Institute for Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan
  • Salma Jalife Villalón, Ministry of Communications and Transport, Mexico
  • Toby Walsh, Data61
  • Blaž Zupan, University of Ljubljana


  • Robert Asselin, Business Council of Canada
  • Matthieu Dhenne, Dhenne Avocats
  • Antoine Dupont, CEA
  • Neeraj Gupta, Formulate IP
  • Pr. Ichikawa, Hitosubashi University
  • Yoshiaki Nishigai, Chiba University
  • Alistair Nolan, OECD
  • Natalie Raffoul, Brion Raffoul LLP
  • Erich Spangenberg, IPwe